Scores Upcoming Results
31-Jan-2011 05:22:00 GMT
Sri Lanka v West Indies, 1st ODI, SSC

Dwayne Bravo Out As Windies Elect to Bat in 1st ODI

Colombo: West Indies captain Darren Sammy won the toss and elected to bat first against Sri Lanka in the opening one-dayer of a three-match series at Sinhalese Sports Club.

The series is being played to make up for a five-match series washed out because of rain last month.

West Indies left out Andre Russell, Dwayne Bravo, Sulieman Benn and Devon Smith from the starting XI, choosing to play only one spinner, Nikita Miller, and two specialist fast bowlers. Darren Sammy and Kieron Pollard provided two seam-bowling options as well.

Sri Lanka omitted Dilhara Fernando, Rangana Herath, Thisara Perera and Chamara Silva. This series was rescheduled from December because of persistent rain that marred the Test series and would have prevented the ODIs from taking place as well.


Sri Lanka:
Tillakaratne Dilshan, Upul Tharanga, Mahela Jayawardene, Kumar Sangakkara (capt & wk), Thilan Samaraweera, Angelo Mathews, Chamara Kapugedera, Ajantha Mendis, Nuwan Kulasekara, Muttiah Muralitharan, Lasith Malinga.

West Indies: Chris Gayle, Adrian Barath, Darren Bravo, Ramnaresh Sarwan, Shivnarine Chanderpaul, Kieron Pollard, Darren Sammy (capt), Carlton Baugh (wk), Nikita Miller, Ravi Rampaul, Kemar Roach.

Scores Upcoming Results
Related links