Scores Upcoming Results
Get Complete History of the Asia Cup. Explore the origin of the cricket Asia Cup.

History - Asia Cup History

1984, UAE
The first edition of the Asia Cup, called the Rothmans Asia Cup and conceived in 1983 with the creation of the Asian Cricket Council, was held in Sharjah. The tournament was a round-robin tournament; India won the title on the back of a ten-wicket win over Sri Lanka and a 54-run win against Pakistan
1986, Sri Lanka
Now termed the John Player Gold Leaf Trophy, the second edition was held in Sri Lanka, the first such multi-nation tournament to be held there. The current champions India were not participate, Sri Lanka won the Asia Cup with a five-wicket against Pakistan after losing their first match to the against Pak. Arjuna Ranatunga was named Man of the Series.
1988, Bangladesh
Bangladesh hosted the Wills Asia Cup but failed to win any of its three games. Sri Lanka cruised into the final with three wins in a row but Finally India won again Asia Cup. Man-of-the-Series Navjot Sidhu's.
1990-91, India
India hosted the fourth edition and won it for the third time, defeating Sri Lanka in the final in Eden Garden, Kolkata Pakistan had pulled out of the tournament, which helped India's cause. Four wickets from Kapil Dev restricted Sri Lanka to 204 in the final, and a powerful middle order knocked off the runs in just 42.1 Overs.
1993, Pakistan Cancelled
1995, UAE
With the 1993 tournament cancelled due to political tensions, the official fifth edition returned to Sharjah after 11 years. India, Sri Lanka and Pakistan were tied on points after the preliminary round but the former two teams went in by virtue of a better run rate. For the third successive time India defeated Sri Lanka in the final. Led by a magnificent third-wicket stand of 175 off 184 balls by Sidhu and Mohammad Azharuddin, India cruised to an eight -wicket victory. This win took India's overall win tally to four, the most for the Asia Cup.
1997, Sri Lanka
Sri Lanka lifted the 1997 Pepsi Asia Cup by defeating India by eight wickets at home. Sri Lanka, having lifted the World Cup the year before, were a force to be reckoned with. The world champions made use of a slow surface to defeat Pakistan by 15 runs in the tournament opener, brushed aside India thanks to a brilliant Ranatunga century, and demolished Bangladesh courtesy Sanath Jayasuriya's 83-ball 108. Ranatunga and Jayasuriya starred in the final in Colombo as well, a triumph that followed their success in the Singer Akai Cup and Independence Cup in India earlier in the year.
2000, Bangladesh
Pakistan remained unbeaten all tournament and rightfully lifted the title for the first time. Bangladesh lost all their matches and India only beat the hosts. Pakistan were well-rounded; Bangladesh were thumped by 223 runs, Yousuf Youhana and Abdul Razzaq combined to down India by 44 runs, and Sri Lanka were beaten by seven wickets, with Youhana again the star. Come the final, at Dhaka's Bangabandhu National Stadium, and another all-round effort under lights earned Pakistan a 39-run win.
2004, Sri Lanka
Sri Lanka shrugged off an indifferent season with a 25-run win over India in Colombo in the finals, after losing just one match all tournament. Hong Kong and the UAE also participated but did little of note; Bangladesh beat Hong Kong by 116 runs to open up their account in the tournament history. Pakistan began well only to crash out due to an error in net run rate calculation and India came through despite a couple sluggish displays. But Sri Lanka once again proved dominant at home, defending a total of 228 with some tigerish fielding and top-class spin bowling from Jayasuriya and Upul Chandana.
2008, Pakistan
Sri Lanka beat in Indian again in finals at Karachi by 100 runs. Man of the match of final and Player of the series BAW Mendis (Sri Lanka) break Indian middle order claim 6/13 (8 overs). Sri Lankan batting star Sanath Jayasuriya make his 27th century after Indian get 4 Sri Lankan wicket just 66.
2010, Sri Lanka
Once again Sri Lanka take on India in Asia Cup Final. But this time seamers set up India's thumping title win at Dambulla. India beat host by 81-runs and lifts Asia Cup record 5th times. Ashish Nehra (4-40) proves to be the deadliest of three medium-pacers, repeatedly making the ball land on the seam, and regaining his special ability to get swing with back-of-a-length deliveries, taking three huge wickets for five runs. Man of the match of final Dinesh Karthik for top scorer of the match and Player of the series Pakistan captain Shahid Afridi. Pakistan does not reach in final but Afridi highest scorer and took three wickets as well.
2012, Bangladesh
The 2012 Asia Cup, the 11th edition of this tournament, played in Bangladesh. The tournament feature the four Test-playing nations from Asia: Bangladesh, India, Pakistan and Sri Lanka. Pakistan won the 2011/12 Asia Cup, beat Bangladesh by two runs in the final.
2014, Bangladesh
The 2014 Cricket Asia Cup, the 12th edition of this tournament, played in Bangladesh. The tournament feature the four Test-playing nations from Asia -- Bangladesh, India, Pakistan, Sri Lanka and newly ODI team Afghanistan. Sri Lanka won the 2013/14 Asia Cup, beat Pakistan by five wicekts in the final. Sri Lanka won all five match in the tournament
2016, Bangladesh
The 2016 Asia Cup was a Twenty20 International cricket tournament played in Bangladesh from 19 February to 6 March 2016. It was the 13th edition of the Asia Cup, the fifth played in Bangladesh, and the first time in the T20I format. India won sixth times, by beat host Bangladesh by eight wickets in the rain interrupted 15-over final.
2018, UAE
The 2018 Asia Cup was a 50-over International cricket tournament that was held in United Arab Emirates (UAE) from 15-28 September. It was the 14th edition of the Asia Cup, the third played in UAE. India were the defending champions and won seventh times, by beat Bangladesh by three wickets on last ball.
2022, UAE
The 2022 Asia Cup was a 20-over International cricket tournament played in United Arab Emirates (UAE) from 27 August to 11 September 2022, was 15th edition of the Asia Cup, the fourth played in UAE. India were the defending champions.

Originally scheduled to be held in September 2020, the tournament was postponed in July 2020 due to the COVID-19 pandemic. It was then rescheduled to take place in Sri Lanka in June 2021, before being postponed to again. Pakistan were scheduled to host the tournament after retaining the rights to host the 2022 edition. However, in October 2021, the Asian Cricket Council (ACC) announced that Sri Lanka would host the tournament in 2022, with Pakistan hosting the 2023 edition.

Sri Lanka beat Pakistan by 23 runs in the final, to win their sixth title.
2023, Pakistan/Sri Lanka
The 2023 Asia Cup was a 50-over International cricket tournament with Pakistan as the official host. It was held in Pakistan and Sri Lanka, between 30 August to 17 September 2023. It was the 16th edition of the Asia Cup. India won record eighth times, by beat Sri Lanka by 10 wickets. In the final Sri Lanka bowled out only 50.

Asia Cup Championship Details (Since 1984)

S# Year Host Champion Runner-Up
1. 1984 UAE India Sri Lanka
2. 1986 Sri Lanka Sri Lanka Pakistan
3. 1988 Bangladesh India Sri Lanka
4. 1990-91 India India Sri Lanka
5. 1993 Pakistan (Cancelled)
6. 1995 UAE India Sri Lanka
7. 1997 Sri Lanka Sri Lanka India
8. 2000 Bangladesh Pakistan Sri Lanka
9. 2004 Sri Lanka Sri Lanka India
10. 2008 Pakistan Sri Lanka India
11. 2010 Sri Lanka India Sri Lanka
12. 2012 Bangladesh Pakistan Bangladesh
13. 2014 Bangladesh Sri Lanka Pakistan
14. 2016 Bangladesh India Bangladesh
15. 2018 UAE India Bangladesh
16. 2022 UAE Sri Lanka Pakistan
17. 2023 Sri Lanka/Pakistan India Sri Lanka

Last Update: Sep 17, 2023
Scores Upcoming Results