Scores Upcoming Results
New Zealand recorded its first win in the ICC Champions Trophy in 2002, after defeating India in the final, by four wickets.

New Zealand in Champions Trophy

New Zealand has been playing the ICC Champions Trophy since its very inception i.e. 1998, when it was known as ICC KnockOut Trophy. However, it has managed to record only one win against India, in 2002. Apart from that, the team failed to reach the semi-finals three times. In the 2013, it lost the chance to play in the final, after being defeated by Australia. Let's explore the track record of New Zealand, in ICC Champions Trophy.

New Zealand in ICC Champions Trophy

1998 - Bangladesh
Squad: Stephen Fleming (captain), Geoff Allott, Nathan Astle, Mark Bailey, Matthew Bell, Simon Doull, Chris Harris, Matt Horne, Craig McMillan, Shayne O'Connor, Adam Parore, Alex Tait, Daniel Vettori, Paul Wiseman.

Performance: New Zealand won its place in the 1998 Champions Trophy (then known as ICC KnockOut Trophy) by defeating Zimbabwe in the preliminary match. With this, it entered the quarter finals. However, as it lost the next match to Sri Lanka, New Zealand was out of the series.

2000 - Kenya
Squad: Stephen Fleming (captain), Geoff Allott, Nathan Astle, Chris Cairns, Chris Harris, Craig McMillan, Dion Nash, Chris Nevin, Adam Parore (wicket keeper), Craig Spearman, Scott Styris, Glen Sulzberger, Roger Twose, Paul Wiseman.

Performance: 2000 Champions Trophy saw New Zealand going straight away to the quarter-finals, without having to prove its mettle in the pre-quarter finals. There, it beat Zimbabwe by 64 runs and thus, reserved a place in the semi-finals as well. Defeating Pakistan in the semi-final and India in the final, the team finally managed to win its first ICC Champions Trophy.

2002 - Sri Lanka
Squad: Stephen Fleming (captain), Nathan Astle, Shane Bond, Chris Harris, Paul Hitchcock, Kyle Mills, Chris Nevin, Jacob Oram, Mathew Sinclair, Scott Styris, Glen Sulzberger, Daryl Tuffey, Daniel Vettori, Lou Vincent.

Performance: In the third edition of ICC Champions Trophy, played in the year 2002, New Zealand lost its very first match, against Australia. Even though it won the next match, against Bangladesh, the team did not get a place in the semi-finals and had to go back empty-handed.

2004 - England
Squad: Stephen Fleming (captain), Nathan Astle, Ian Butler, Chris Cairns, Chris Harris Hamish Marshall, Brendon McCullum, Craig McMillan, Kyle Mills, Jacob Oram, Michael Papps, Scott Styris, Daryl Tuffey, Daniel Vettori.

Performance: In the 2004 Champions Trophy, New Zealand lost the chance to play in the semi-finals once again, after winning only one out of the first two matches. The team had beaten USA by 210 runs, but was seen being defeated by Australia (by seven wickets), in the initial stage.

2006 - India
Squad: Stephen Fleming (captain), Nathan Astle, Shane Bond, James Franklin, Peter Fulton, Mark Gillespie, Brendon McCullum, Hamish Marshall, Kyle Mills, Jacob Oram, Jeetan Patel, Scott Styris, Daniel Vettori, Lou Vincent

Performance: The 2006 edition of ICC Champions Trophy had New Zealand entering the semi-finals. The team won the first match against South Africa, lost the second one against Sri Lanka and won the third one against Pakistan. However, it lost the semi-finals to Australia, which went on to play in the finals.

2009 - South Africa
Squad: Daniel Vettori (c), Shane Bond, Neil Broom, Ian Butler, Brendon Diamanti, Grant Elliott, James Franklin, Martin Guptill, Gareth Hopkins (wk), Brendon McCullum (wk), Kyle Mills, Iain O'Brien, Jeetan Patel, Aaron Redmond, Ross Taylor, Jacob Oram, Jesse Ryder, Daryl Tuffey.

Performance: The 2009 edition of ICC Champions Trophy had New Zealand entering the Final. The team lost the first match against South Africa, win the second one against Sri Lanka and won the third one against England. The beat Pakistan in semis and entered final. However, it lost the final to Australia.

2013 - England
Squad - Brendon McCullum (captain & wk), Martin Guptill, Luke Ronchi (wk), Grant Elliott, Ross Taylor, Daniel Vettori, Kane Williamson, James Franklin, Mitchell McClenaghan, Nathan McCullum, Kyle Mills, Colin Munro, Tim Southee, Trent Boult, Corey Anderson and Doug Bracewell.

Performance: The 2013 edition of ICC Champions Trophy had New Zealand out of group stage with one win, one lost and one washes out. The team win the first match against Sri Lanka by one wicket, match against Australian washes out, while last match against England lost by ten runs.

2017 - England
Squad - Kane Williamson (Capt.), Corey Anderson, Trent Boult, Neil Broom, Colin de Grandhomme, Martin Guptill, Tom Latham (wk), Mitchell McClenaghan, Adam Milne, James Neesham, Jeetan Patel, Mitchell Santner, Tim Southee, Ross Taylor and Luke Ronchi (wk)

Performance: In 2017 edition of ICC Champions Trophy New Zealand were only second team after Australia returns without any win and finished at bottom in Group A. The first match against Australian washes out when they were on driver seat, while lost last two matches against England and Bangladesh.

Overall records : Played - 24, Win - 12, Lost 10, No-result - 2
Scores Upcoming Results