Scores Upcoming Results
England is one of the teams that have participated in the ICC Champions Trophy, since its very start i.e. 1998 in Dhaka

England in Champions Trophy

England, one of the test playing nations of International Cricket Council (ICC), has been a part of the Champions Trophy since the year 1998, when the debut tournament of the trophy was played. Till date, the cricket team has managed to reach the finals only once, in 2004, but even then, it ended up being defeated at the last moment. Let's take a thorough look at the track record of England, in ICC Champions Trophy, till date.

England in ICC Champions Trophy

1998 - Bangladesh
Squad: Adam Hollioake (captain), Ian Austin, Ali Brown, Dougie Brown, Mark Ealham, Neil Fairbrother, Matthew Fleming, Ashley Giles, Graeme Hick, Nick Knight, Graham Lloyd, Peter Martin, Jack Russell, Chris Silverwood.

Performance: England started the debut tournament of Champions Trophy, then known as ICC KnockOut Trophy 1998, on a bad note. The team was out of the game after the first match itself, having lost it to South Africa, played as per the straight knock-out format.

2000 - Kenya
Squad: Nasser Hussain (captain), Mark Alleyne, Andy Caddick, Mark Ealham, Andrew Flintoff, Ashley Giles, Paul Grayson, Darren Gough, Matthew Hoggard, Graeme Hick, Vikram Solanki, Alec Stewart (wicket keeper), Marcus Trescothick, Graham Thorpe.

Performance: The second edition of ICC KnockOut Trophy, played in the year 2000, saw England winning in the pre-Quarter Finals, against Bangladesh. In the Quarter Finals, the team faced South Africa and, just like the previous tournament, had to go back after being defeated by the latter.

2002 - Sri Lanka
Squad: Nasser Hussain (captain), Ian Blackwell, Andrew Caddick, Rikki Clarke, Dominic Cork, Ashley Giles, Matthew Hoggard, Ronnie Irani, James Kirtley, Nick Knight, Owais Shah, Jeremy Snape, Alec Stewart, Marcus Trescothick.

Performance: As England entered the third ICC Champions Trophy, in 2002, it won the first match (played against Zimbabwe), but ended up losing the second match (to India). With this, it also lost a place in the semi-finals and had to go back empty-handed.

2004 - England
Squad: Michael Vaughan (captain), James Anderson, Gareth Batty, Paul Collingwood, Andrew Flintoff, Ashley Giles, Darren Gough, Stephen Harmison, Geraint Jones, Anthony McGrath, Vikram Solanki, Andrew Strauss, Marcus Trescothick, Alex Wharf.

Performance: 2004 ICC Champions Trophy saw England's first as well as the second match, against Zimbabwe and Sri Lanka, being deferred to the next day. However, the team managed to win both of them and enter the semifinals, where it beat Australia. Still, it could not win the trophy, as the final was won by West Indies.

2006 - India
Squad: Andrew Flintoff (captain), James Anderson, Ian Bell, Rikki Clarke, Paul Collingwood, Jamie Dalrymple, Steve Harmison, Ed Joyce, Sajid Mahmood, Jon Lewis, Kevin Pietersen, Chris Read, Andrew Strauss, Michael Yardy.

Performance: England was unlucky in the 2006 edition of the Champions Trophy as well. It was defeated in the first as well as the second match, by India and Australia, but managed to win the third one, beating West Indies by 3 wickets. However, once again, the team lost a place in the semi-finals and had to go back home.

2009 - South Africa
Squad: Andrew Strauss (c) James Anderson, Ravi Bopara Tim Bresnan, Stuart Broad Paul Collingwood, Steve Davies (wk) Joe Denly, Eoin Morgan Graham Onions, Adil Rashid Owais Shah, Ryan Sidebottom Graeme Swann, Luke Wright Andrew Flintoff, Matt Prior.

Performance: England was again unlucky in the 2009 edition of the Champions Trophy. England is the first reach Semi by beating host Africa and Sri lanka. It was defeated in the third one, against Kiwis. In semi-final Champion Australia beat by 9-wickets.

2013 - England
Squad - Alastair Cook (captain), Jonny Bairstow, Ian Bell, Eoin Morgan, Joe Root, Jonathan Trott, Ravi Bopara, Tim Bresnan, Stuart Broad, Jos Buttler (wk), Steven Finn, Graeme Swann, James Tredwell, James Anderson and Chris Woakes.

Performance: England reached in Final by beating South Africa easily in Semifinal, but they have lost against World Champion India in rain distrub final by five runs. England won first match against Australia, but lost against Sri Lanka. In last group they beat New Zealand.

2017 - England
Squad - Eoin Morgan (Capt.), Moeen Ali, Jonny Bairstow (wk), Jake Ball, Sam Billings (wk), Jos Buttler (wk), Alex Hales, Liam Plunkett, Adil Rashid, Joe Root, Jason Roy, Ben Stokes, David Willey, Chris Woakes, Mark Wood and Steven Finn

Performance: England was unlucky in the 2017 edition of the Champions Trophy. England won all three matches comfortably in league stage but in the semi-final Pakistan beat England by eight wickets.

Overall records : Played - 25, Win - 14, Lost 11
Scores Upcoming Results