Scores Upcoming Results
ICC Champions Trophy has had the team of West Indies being declared as the 'Champions' only once i.e. in the year 2004.

West Indies in Champions Trophy

West Indies has been playing ICC Champions Trophy since 1998 i.e. the year of its inception, when it was known as ICC KnockOut Trophy only. Its journey in the championship, has been a roller coaster ride. It won the trophy once, played in the finals twice, went to the quarter-finals once and did not even make it past the preliminary stage once. Let's take a thorough look at the track record of West Indies, in ICC Champions Trophy.

West Indies in ICC Champions Trophy

1998 - Bangladesh
Squad: Brian Lara (captain), Keith Arthurton, Shivnarine Chanderpaul, Mervyn Dillon, Carl Hooper, Ridley Jacobs, Reon King, Clayton Lambert, Rawl Lewis, Nixon McLean, Neil McGarrell, Phil Simmons, Philo Wallace, Stuart Williams.

Performance: West Indies went to the quarter finals of the debut Champions Trophy, a.k.a. 1998 ICC KnockOut Trophy, straight away and managed to beat Pakistan, thus entering the semi-finals. There, it defeated India and went on to play the final against South Africa. However, the latter won the game and with it, the trophy.

2000 - Kenya
Squad: SL Campbell, (captain), CO Browne (wicket keeper), BC Lara, WW Hinds, SC Joseph, MN Samuels, LR Williams, MV Nagamootoo, NAM McLean, M Dillon, KCB Jeremy

Performance: 2000 ICC Champions Trophy saw West Indies not even making it till the quarter finals. The team played the pre-quarter finals with Sri Lanka was defeated by the latter, by as much as 108 runs. With this, it was straight out of the tournament and went back empty-handed.

2002 - Sri Lanka
Squad: Carl Hooper (Captain), Shivnarine Chanderpaul, Pedro Collins, Corey Collymore, Mervyn Dillon, Vasbert Drakes, Chris Gayle, Ryan Hinds, Wavell Hinds, Ridley Jacobs, Brian Lara, Runako Morton, Mahendra Nagamootoo, Ramnaresh Sarwan.

Performance: In 2002 ICC Champions Trophy, West Indies scored poorly once again. The team lost the first match to South Africa, by two wickets. Following this, though it managed to win the next match, against Kenya, the team had lost a chance to play in the semi-finals.

2004 - England
Squad: Brian Lara (captain), Ian Bradshaw, Dwayne Bravo, Courtney Browne, Shivnarine Chanderpaul, Corey Collymore, Mervyn Dillon, Chris Gayle, Ryan Hinds, Wavell Hinds, Sylvester Joseph, Ricardo Powell, Ramnaresh Sarwan, Darren Sammy.

Performance: In 2004, West Indies finally managed to lay a claim on Champions Trophy. It won both the matches in the initial stage, against Bangladesh and South Africa, and went on to play in the semi-finals. There, it beat Pakistan and found itself facing England. In the final, West Indies beat its opponent by two wickets, claiming the title of the 'Champions'.

2006 - India
Squad: Brian Lara (captain), Ramnaresh Sarwan, Carlton Baugh, Ian Bradshaw, Dwayne Bravo, Shivnarine Chanderpaul, Corey Collymore, Fidel Edwards, Chris Gayle, Wavell Hinds, Runako Morton, Marlon Samuels, Dwayne Smith, Jerome Taylor.

Performance: In the 2006 ICC Champions Trophy, West Indies won two of the three preliminary matches, against Zimbabwe and Bangladesh. In the main round, it defeated Australia and India, but lost to England. After winning against South Africa in the semi-finals, the team went on to play the final against Australia. However, it lost the last match and with it, the series as well.

2009 - South Africa
Squad: Floyd Reifer (c), Darren Sammy (vc), David Bernard, Tino Best, Royston Crandon, Travis Dowlin, Andre Fletcher, Kevin McClean, Nikita Miller, Kieran Powell, Dale Richards, Kemar Roach, Devon Smith, Gavin Tonge, Chadwick Walton (wk), Daren Powell.

Performance: In the 2009 ICC Champions Trophy, West Indies lost all match in first round against Pakistan, Australia and India. Only Windies team is no one any match in the tournament, because West Indies come with second string.

2013 - England
Squad - Dwayne Bravo (captain), Chris Gayle, Darren Bravo, Johnson Charles, Kieron Pollard, Marlon Samuels, Ramneresh Sarwan, Denesh Ramdin (wk), Darren Sammy, Tino Best, Jason Holder, Sunil Narine, Ravi Rampaul, Kemar Roach and Devon Smith (wk).

Performance: In the last ICC Champions Trophy, West Indies beat Pakistan in first match but lost against India. Last match against South Africa rain affected match tied. West Indies became the second team (after lost 11) to lose 10 matches in the ICC Champions Trophy

2017 - England
Do not qualified.

Overall records : Played - 24, Win - 13, Lost 10, Tied - 1
Scores Upcoming Results